Friday, June 26, 2009

Statoil ASA - 2 Stories

1) Statoil overtar North American Oil Sands Corporation (By Statoil) 27 April 2007
In this news story on Statoil's website the company writes about the purchase of the Canadian oil company "North American Oil Sands Corporation" in Alberta, Canada. In the story the writer states: "...nordøst for byen Edmonton i delstaten Alberta." The story is for the most part correct, but it is another excellent example of how many Norwegian journalists seem to have some confusion about Canada's provinces. Alberta is a province located in Western Canada, not a state. The Norwegian word for province is "provins". The internal divisions with Canada are called provinces, in which Canada has a total of 10 and three northern territories. Canada has been using provinces for 346 years, since 1663, when Canada became a Royal Province of France. It's amazing Statoil can purchase for $2.3 billion in Canadian currency, a Canadian company, but can't properly identify the geographic term for Alberta as a province in Canada. Canada does not have, and has never had states, so why write "delstaten"? Would Norwegian journalists call an Australian or USA state a "provins"? To use the wrong political term the writer must have either assumed, guessed, or used some source that has a mistake in it. But, considering a purchase of this size, Alberta must be a place often spoken of in Statoil offices, and one would think enough research was done to know it is a province. There would have been some contact with the Alberta Provincial Government, or provincial authorities to at least see or hear the word province.
2)Hendelser 2007 (2008-04-08)
In this report, it is written: "I slutten av april var det klart for kjøp av North American Oil Sands Corporation (NAOSC) i den kanadiske delstaten Alberta." This is not correct. Alberta is a province in Canada, not a state. Canada does not have states, and has been using provinces since 1663, when Canada became a Royal Province of France. Mexico and the USA are the only two countries in North America with states.

No comments: